JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2026 PREVIEW 2024 General 2024 CD-20 Special 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution CA in Congress Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

Bill Jones


Picture of Bill Jones
Date Party Office Votes Result
11-05-1968 Republican CD-19 53842 Loss
11-03-1970 Republican CD-19 41462 Loss
11-02-1976 Republican AD-31 44655 Loss
11-02-1982 Republican AD-32 60744 Win
11-06-1984 Republican AD-32 87555 Win
11-04-1986 Republican AD-32 70825 Win
11-08-1988 Republican AD-32 87483 Win
11-06-1990 Republican AD-32 71592 Win
11-03-1992 Republican AD-29 122464 Win
11-08-1994 Republican Secretary of State 3727894 Win
11-03-1998 Republican Secretary of State 3783665 Win
11-02-2004 Republican Senate3 4548931 Loss

Candidate Biography:

William L. Jones
Born: December 20, 1949 in Coalinga, CA
Married: Maurine (in 1971)*
Children: Andrea and Wendy

1991-1992: Minority Leader, California State Assembly
2002: Primary Candidate for Governor (Lost; 16%)
2003-Present: Founder and Chairman of the Board, Pacific Ethanol Inc.
2006-2008: San Joaquin Valley Region Member, California Bay-Delta Authority
2008: Delegate, Republican National Convention
2009: Early Primary Candidate for CD-19 (Withdrew)
2012: Delegate, Republican National Convention

  • LEGISLATION: Author, Proposition 184 (1994), which created the Three-strikes Law for repeat offenders.
  • As Secretary of State, Jones launched the first website that carried live election returns (
  • Maureen Jones is the Chair of the California Museum Board of Directors.
  • CLOSE CONTEST: Jones won the 1998 General election when he defeated Michela Alioto-Pier by 89,738 votes (1.1%).
  • CLOSE CONTEST: Jones won the 1994 General election when he defeated Tony Miller by 37,053 votes (0.5%).

Source: California Legislature Handbook (1983)