JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2026 PREVIEW 2024 General 2024 CD-20 Special 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution CA in Congress Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

Rose Ann Vuich


Picture of Rose Ann Vuich
CA State Senate
Date Party Office Votes Result
11-02-1976 Democratic SD-15 85045 Win
11-04-1980 Democratic SD-15 140086 Win
11-06-1984 Democratic SD-15 162173 Win
11-08-1988 Democratic SD-15 176467 Win

Candidate Biography:

Born: January 29, 1927 in Cutler, CA
Died: August 30, 2001 in Dinuba, CA

Previous: President, Dinuba Chamber of Commerce
Previous: Member, Alta District Hospital Board

  • NOTABLE HISTORY: First woman elected to the California State Senate. 
  • IN HER HONOR: Since 1998, the Kenneth L. Maddy Institute at CSU Fresno presents the annual Rose Anne Vuich Ethical Leadership Award to a local person who has demonstrated "integrity, strength of character, exemplary ethical behavior, ability to build consensus, serving the public interest and vision for enhancing the community." Recipients of the Vuich Award include: Juan Arambula (2002) and Cal Dooley (2004).
  • PLACENAME: In 1999, the interchange between Route 41 and Route 180 was been named the Rose Ann Vuich Interchange. At the State Capitol, Room 2040 has been named the Rose Ann Vuich Hearing Room (in 2006). There is a Rose Ann Vuich Park in Dinuba.
  • SHE STOOD ALONE: Vuich was the only woman in the State Senate in 1977-78 (although there were five female Assemblymembers that session). Three other women served as the sole member of their gender in the entire Legislature. Eleanor Miller was the only woman in the Legislature in 1929-30, 1933-1936 and 1941-42. Kathryn Niehouse was the only woman in the Legislature in 1943-1952. Pauline L. Davis was the only woman in the Legislature in 1961-1966.