JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2026 PREVIEW 2024 General 2024 CD-20 Special 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution CA in Congress Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

Nicole Parra


Picture of Nicole Parra
Date Party Office Votes Result
11-05-2002 Democratic AD-30 26586 Win
11-02-2004 Democratic AD-30 42953 Win
11-07-2006 Democratic AD-30 28244 Win

Candidate Biography:

Nicole M. Parra
Born: February 3, 1970 in Bakersfield, CA
Family: Daughter of Pete Parra - Kern County Supervisor (1996-2005) and 2010 Primary candidate for AD-30 (Lost)

1996: Field Director, Kern County Supervisor Pete Parra
1992-1998: Legislative Assistant, Congressman Cal Dooley
1998: GOTV Coordinator, Assemblymember Dean Florez
1998-2002: District Director, Congressman Cal Dooley
2000: Campaign Manager, Congressman Cal Dooley
2000-2003: Co-Chair, Governor Gray Davis's Economic Development Subcommittee
2008: Delegate, Democratic National Convention
2009-2010: Director, Governor's Regional Development Initiatives
2009: Early Primary Candidate for SD-16 in 2010 (Withdrew)
2010: Democrat and Independent Voter Coalition Leader, Carly Fiorina for Senate campaign
2022: Early Primary Candidate for CD-21 (Withdrew)
2022: Primary Candidate for SD-16 (Lost; 9.6%)

  • LEGISLATIVE PUNISHMENT: Parra was removed from her Capitol office by Assembly Speaker Karen Bass in retaliation for her refusal to vote on a budget proposal on August 18, 2008.
  • CLOSE CONTEST: In the 2002 election, Parra eventually won by 266 votes and didn't claim victory until 16 days after the election.

Source: California Legislature Handbook (2003-04)