JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2026 PREVIEW 2024 General 2024 CD-20 Special 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution CA in Congress Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

Betty T. Yee


Picture of Betty T. Yee
Date Party Office Votes Result
12-06-2004 Democratic SBOE1 0 Win
11-07-2006 Democratic SBOE1 1508130 Win
11-02-2010 Democratic SBOE1 1617655 Win
11-04-2014 Democratic Controller 3810304 Win
11-06-2018 Democratic Controller 8013067 Win

Candidate Biography:

Born: October 19, 1957 in San Francisco, CA
Married: Rabbi Steven Jacobs (m. 2015)

1988-1989: Senate Fellow, Senator Diane Watson
Previous: Principal Consultant, Assembly Committee on Local Government
Previous: Principal Consultant, Assembly Committee on Budget
Previous: Principal Consultant, Assembly Committee on Appropriations
2000-2003: Chief Deputy Director for Budget, California Department of Finance
2003-2004: Chief Deputy, BOE Member Carole Migden
2016: Delegate, Democratic National Convention
2021-Present: Vice Chair, California Democratic Party

  • CLOSE CONTEST: When the Statement of Vote was published on July 11th (a little more than a month after the Primary, Yee had narrowly won a spot in the 2014 General election after defeating John A. Perez by 481 votes (0.055%) and David Evans by 28,086 votes (0.7%).
  • MOST VOTES: In the 2018 General Election, Yee was reelected Controller with 8,013,067 votes, setting the all-time record for most votes for a state constitutional officer in California. The previous record of 5,589,633 votes had been set by Jesse Unruh in his 1986 campaign for Treasurer.
  • In 2019, Yee was the target of an attempted recall led by Erin Cruz. The recall failed to qualify for the ballot.