JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2026 PREVIEW 2024 General 2024 CD-20 Special 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution CA in Congress Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

November 13, 1849

General Election

Note: A total of 14,213 Californians voted in this election (only 12,875 voted on the issue of California's Constitution).

The vote to adopt California's First Constitution was 12,064 in favor and 811 against. Most (just under 80%) of the votes against the constitution came from the Sacramento District.

Peter H. Burnett Nonpartisan 47.8% Win
John W. Geary Nonpartisan 9.6% Loss
Winfield S. Sherwood Nonpartisan 22.7% Loss
William M. Steuart Nonpartisan 4.4% Loss
John A. Sutter Nonpartisan 15.5% Loss
Lieutenant Governor
Pablo De La Guerra Nonpartisan 1% Loss
John B. Frisbie Nonpartisan 11.7% Loss
Francis J. Lippitt Nonpartisan 8% Loss
John McDougall Nonpartisan 55.5% Win
Richard Roman Nonpartisan 17.8% Loss
A. M. Winn Nonpartisan 6% Loss
Louis Dent Nonpartisan 8.2% Loss
Kimball H. Dimmick Nonpartisan 0.2% Loss
Edward Gilbert Nonpartisan 20.6% Win
Peter Halsted Nonpartisan 2.4% Loss
L. W. Hastings Nonpartisan 0.9% Loss
E. J. C. Kewen Nonpartisan 7.3% Loss
P. A. Morse Nonpartisan 8.3% Loss
Rodman M. Price Nonpartisan 16.3% Loss
Pierson B. Reading Nonpartisan 0.7% Loss
William H. Russell Nonpartisan 0.4% Loss
William E. Shannon Nonpartisan 5.4% Loss
W. M. Sheppard Nonpartisan 7.2% Loss
J. S. Thompson Nonpartisan 0.3% Loss
George W. Wright Nonpartisan 22% Win
SD-Los Angeles
E. Kirby Chamberlain Nonpartisan 31.8% Win
E. Corronel Nonpartisan 9.2% Loss
Alexander W. Hope Nonpartisan 29.1% Win
Miguel D. Pedrorena Nonpartisan 12.4% Loss
J. Temple Nonpartisan 17.5% Loss
W. H. McKee Nonpartisan 10.3% Loss
J. McLean Nonpartisan 12.2% Loss
J. Ramirez Nonpartisan 7.5% Loss
Selim E. Woodworth Nonpartisan 70% Win
John Bidwell Nonpartisan 21.1% Win
Hardin Bigelow Nonpartisan 8.1% Loss
Elisha O. Crosby Nonpartisan 15% Win
G. A. Grant Nonpartisan 9.7% Loss
Thomas J. Green Nonpartisan 14.4% Win
M. Morrison Nonpartisan 12.5% Loss
Charles E. Pickett Nonpartisan 5.2% Loss
Henry E. Robinson Nonpartisan 14% Win
SD-San Francisco
Nathaniel Bennett Nonpartisan 29.8% Win
H. R. Bowie Nonpartisan 20.2% Loss
J. A. Brinsmade Nonpartisan 19.9% Loss
Gabriel B. Post Nonpartisan 30.1% Win
SD-San Joaquin
David F. Douglass Nonpartisan 24.4% Win
Benjamin S. Lippincott Nonpartisan 22.9% Win
Henry A. Lyons Nonpartisan 14.6% Loss
Nelson Taylor Nonpartisan 16.6% Win
Thomas L. Vermeule Nonpartisan 21.5% Win
SD-San Jose
William R. Bassham Nonpartisan 100% Win
SD-San Luis Obispo
W. G. Dana Nonpartisan 30.8% Loss
Pablo De La Guerra Nonpartisan 69.2% Win
S. Cooper Nonpartisan 8.7% Loss
Jonas Spect Nonpartisan 35.2% Win
Mariano G. Vallejo Nonpartisan 26.4% Loss
Joel P. Walker Nonpartisan 29.7% Loss
AD-Los Angeles
Alexander P. Crittenden Nonpartisan Win
Montgomery Martin Nonpartisan Win
J. S. Gray Nonpartisan Win
Theron R. Perlee Nonpartisan Win
H. C. Cardwell Nonpartisan Win
P. B. Cornwall Nonpartisan Win
William B. Dickenson Nonpartisan Win
John T. Hughes Nonpartisan Win
Elisha W. McKinstry Nonpartisan Win
George B. Tingley Nonpartisan Win
Madison Walthall Nonpartisan Win
Thomas J. White Nonpartisan Win
John F. Williams Nonpartisan Win
AD-Santa Barbara
Jose M. Covarrubias Nonpartisan Win
John Scott Nonpartisan Win
AD-San Diego
Oliver S. Witherby Nonpartisan Win
AD-San Francisco
Alexander Patterson Nonpartisan Win
Edmund Randolph Nonpartisan Win
Levi Stowell Nonpartisan Win
William C. Van Voorhies Nonpartisan Win
John H. Watson Nonpartisan Win
AD-San Joaquin
Drury P. Baldwin Nonpartisan Win
Charles M. Creaner Nonpartisan Win
Richard W. Heath Nonpartisan Win
Benjamin F. Moore Nonpartisan Win
Joseph C. Morehead Nonpartisan Win
Isaac S. K. Ogier Nonpartisan Win
J. F. Stephens Nonpartisan Win
J. Stewart Nonpartisan Win
J. W. Van Benschoten Nonpartisan Win
AD-San Jose
Joseph Aram Nonpartisan Win
Elam Brown Nonpartisan Win
Benjamin Cory Nonpartisan Win
AD-San Luis Obispo
Henry A. Tefft Nonpartisan Win
J. E. Brackett Nonpartisan Win
John S. Bradford Nonpartisan Win