JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2026 PREVIEW 2024 General 2024 CD-20 Special 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution CA in Congress Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

November 5, 1872

General Election

Ulysses S. Grant Republican 60.5% Win
Horace Greeley Liberal Republican 38.5% Loss
Charles O'Conor Democratic 1% Loss
Charles Clayton Republican 52.3% Win
William A. Piper Liberal Republican 47.7% Loss
Paschal Coggins Liberal Republican 48.2% Loss
Horace F. Page Republican 51.8% Win
John M. Coghlan Republican 48.3% Loss
John K. Luttrell Liberal Republican 51.7% Win
Sherman O. Houghton Republican 53.6% Win
E. J. C. Kewen Liberal Republican 46.4% Loss

Special Election

Special Election to fill the vacancy caused by the death of State Senator David Boucher (SD-24).


George C. Perkins Republican Win