JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2026 PREVIEW 2024 General 2024 CD-20 Special 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution CA in Congress Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

September 14, 2021

Recall Election

Special Election for the Recall of Governor Gavin Newsom.

A total of 12,838,565 Californians voted in this election.

Shall Gavin Newsom be Recalled (removed) from the Office of Governor?
YES: 4,894,473 (38.1%)
NO: 7,944,092 (61.9%)

Angelyne No Party Preference 0.5% Loss
Holly L. Baade Democratic 1.2% Loss
David Alexander Bramante Republican 0.2% Loss
Heather Collins Green 0.3% Loss
John H. Cox Republican 4.1% Loss
John R. Drake Democratic 0.9% Loss
Larry A. Elder Republican 48.4% Loss
Kevin Faulconer Republican 8% Loss
Rhonda Furin Republican 0.1% Loss
Ted Gaines Republican 0.7% Loss
Sam L. Gallucci Republican 0.2% Loss
Miki Habryn Write-in Loss
James G. Hanink No Party Preference 0.1% Loss
Jeff Hewitt Libertarian 0.7% Loss
David Hillberg Republican 0.1% Loss
Thuy E. Hugens Write-in Loss
Caitlyn Jenner Republican 1% Loss
Dan Kapelovitz Green 0.9% Loss
Kevin K. Kaul No Party Preference 0.1% Loss
Kevin Kiley Republican 3.5% Loss
Chauncey "Slim" Killens Republican 0.1% Loss
Patrick Kilpatrick Democratic 1.2% Loss
Jenny Rae Le Roux Republican 0.2% Loss
Steve Chavez Lodge Republican 0.2% Loss
Michael Loebs No Party Preference 0.3% Loss
David Lozano Republican 0.3% Loss
Denis Lucey No Party Preference 0.1% Loss
Vince Lundgren Write-in Loss
Jeremiah "Jeremy" Marciniak No Party Preference Loss
Diego Martinez Republican 0.1% Loss
Jacqueline McGowan Democratic 2.9% Loss
Daniel Mercuri Republican 0.1% Loss
Vivek B. Mohan Write-in Loss
David Moore No Party Preference 0.4% Loss
Robert C. Newman II Republican 0.1% Loss
Doug Ose Republican 0.4% Loss
Kevin Paffrath Democratic 9.6% Loss
Adam Papagan No Party Preference 0.1% Loss
Armando "Mando" Perez-Serrato Democratic 1.2% Loss
Dennis Richter No Party Preference 0.1% Loss
Brandon M. Ross Democratic 5.3% Loss
Roxanne Write-in Loss
Major Singh No Party Preference 0.3% Loss
Stacy Smith Write-in Loss
Sarah Stephens Republican 0.1% Loss
Denver Stoner Republican 0.3% Loss
Joe M. Symmon Republican Loss
Anthony Trimino Republican 0.4% Loss
Joel Ventresca Democratic 2.5% Loss
Daniel Watts Democratic 2.3% Loss
Nickolas Wildstar Republican 0.1% Loss
Major Williams Write-in 0.1% Loss
Leo S. Zacky Republican 0.1% Loss