JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2026 PREVIEW 2024 General 2024 CD-20 Special 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution CA in Congress Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

Legislative District Maps (1849-Present)
Images of Legislative District Maps, scanned from the "California Legislature" Handbook (1925, 1939, 1947, 1961, 1972, and 1978 editions), compiled by the California Secretary of State. Additional images from the UC Berkeley, California Voter Foundation, and State Senate websites.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress] [Board of Equalization] - from the source
Redistricting Commissioners [website] are Isra Ahmad, Linda Akutagawa, Jane Andersen, Alicia Fernández, Neal Forniciari, Dr. J. Ray Kennedy, Antonio Le Mons, Dr. Sara Sadhwani, Patricia Sinay, Derric Taylor, Pedro Toledo, Trena Turner, Angela Vázquez, and Dr. Russell Yee. 
Note: 52 Congressional seats.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress] [Board of Equalization]
The 2011 redistricting process was guided by the Citizens Redistricting Commission, created by Proposition 11 (2008) and expanded to include Congressional districts by Proposition 20 (2010).
Redistricting Commissioners were Vincent Barabba, Cynthia Dai, Jodie Filkins, Webber Stanley, Forbes Connie, Galambos Malloy, Elaine Kuo (2010-2011), Angelo Ancheta (2011-2020), Jeanne Raya, Peter Yao, Gabino Aguirre, Maria Blanco, Lilbert “Gil” R. Ontai, Michael Ward, Michelle R. DiGuilio, and M. Andre Parvenu.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress] [Board of Equalization]
Note: 53 Congressional Seats.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress*] [Board of Equalization]
Note: 52 Congressional seats.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress*] [Board of Equalization]
Note: 45 Congressional seats.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress*] [Board of Equalization]
Note: 43 Congressional seats.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress]
The 1966 Redistricting was mandated by the Reynolds v. Sims court decision, which established the "one man, one vote" principle in legislative districts at all levels.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress]
Note: 38 Congressional seats.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress]
Note: 30 Congressional seats.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress]
Note: 23 Congressional seats.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress]
Note: 20 Congressional seats.

[State Assembly] [State Senate]
Although called the 1927 redistricting (for the year in which the maps were created), it was created by legislation that was vetoed by Governor C.C. Young and ultimately brought to the ballot in 1928 by referendum as Proposition 1 (1928). Because the November 1928 election saw the passage of Proposition 1 and the election of legislators for the 1929 session, the new districts didn't go into effect until the 1930 and 1932 elections. By 1934, new districts had been drawn following the 1930 Census.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress] [Board of Equalization]

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress]
Note: 11 Congressional seats.

[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress]
Note: 8 Congressional seats.

1891 (March 23)
[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress]
NOTE: 7 Congressional seats.

1883 (March 13)
[State Assembly] [State Senate] [Congress]
NOTE: The Apportionment of 1883 was the first that provided for unique districts for members of the Assembly. From 1849-1883, the state was divided into Senate Districts, which were used by both houses of the legislature.
Note: 6 Congressional seats.

[Board of Equalization] [Railroad Commission]
The State Board of Equalization and Railroad Commission were created by the State Constitution of 1879.

[State Senate]

1872 (March 30)
NOTE: 4 Congressional seats.

1864 (April 1)
NOTE: From 1850-1864, California's three seats in the House of Representatives were elected statewide.

[State Senate]
Source: Chapter 489, Acts of 1861
Note: The number of Senators reached 40.

[State Senate]
Source: Chapter 67, Acts of 1857
The Legislature passed a law in 1857 (Chapt. 155, Acts of 1857) allowing a second Senator to be elected from the 14th Senate District. No district lines changed.

[State Senate]
Source: Chapter 156, Acts of 1853
Note: The number of Legislators increased to 34 Senators and 80 Assemblymembers.

[State Senate]
Source: Chapter 100, Acts of 1851
Note: The number of Legislators increased to 26 Senators and 63 Assemblymembers.
Note: In 1853, one seat in the Senate was permanently removed from SD-15 and placed in SD-06.
Note: In 1853, an additional Senate seat was temporarily given to Butte and Shasta Counties. This seat disappeared in 1856.

[State Senate]
Source: Chapter 59, Acts of 1850
Note: 17 Senators and 36 Assemblymembers

1849 (September)
[State Senate]
Source: 1859 California State Roster
Note: 16 Senators and 36 Assemblymembers