JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2026 PREVIEW 2024 General 2024 CD-20 Special 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution CA in Congress Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

June 4, 2019

Special Election

Special General Elections to fill the vacancies created by the resignations of State Senators Ted Gaines (SD-01) and Ricardo Lara (SD-33). Gaines resigned to become a member of the Board of Equalization and Lara to become Insurance Commissioner.

  • LINK: Live Election Results (SD-01 from the Secretary of State and SD-33 from Los Angeles County)

Brian D. Dahle Republican 53.4% Win
Kevin Kiley Republican 46.6% Loss
Lena Gonzalez Democratic 69.6% Win
Jack M. Guerrero Republican 30.4% Loss