JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Longest Service Shortest Service Redistricting
Elections 2019 AD-01 Special 2020 CD-25 Special 2020 SD-28 Special 2020 General 2022 General Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Recalls Line of Succession Highest Ranking Legislator Databases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

March 3, 2020

Special Election

Special Primary Election to fill the vacancy created by the resignations of Congresswoman Katie Hill (CD-25) and State Senator Jeff Stone (SD-28). Hill resigned for personal reasons and Stone resigned to accept a federal appointment at the U.S. Department of Labor.

This special election is consolidated with California's March Presidential Primary, but those contests don't appear on this page because we only track general election results. You can find information about candidates appearing on the 2020 General Election ballot by visiting that election's page.

Note on CD-25: Twelve candidates have filed in the CD-25 Special Election. Because it has been 15 years since a Special Election with twelve candidates resulting in a candidate elected in the primary, will defer listing candidates until after the Special Primary.

Melissa Melendez Republican
Anna Nevenic Democratic
Elizabeth Romero Democratic
John Schwab Republican
Joy Silver Democratic