JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2021 AD-17 Special 2021 Governor Recall 2021 AD-18 Special 2021 AD-54 Special 2021 Atty Gen appt 2021 AD-79 Special 2021 SD-30 Special 2021 Sec of State appt 2021 US Senate appt 2020 General
Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search Elections by Decade Uncontested Races CA Constitution Line of Succession Highest Ranking

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

April 3, 2001

Special Election

Special Election to fill the vacancies caused by the resignation of Assemblywoman Gloria Romero (AD-49) and failure to assume office by Assemblymember-elect Jan Leja (AD-65).

Romero resigned after being elected to the State Senate. Leja declined to assume office as a condition of a court settlement with the Attorney General's office.

Daniel Arguello Democratic 33.7% Loss
Judy Chu Democratic 58.5% Win
Kim J. Goldsworthy Libertarian 2.5% Loss
Robert Miranda Democratic 5.3% Loss
Russ Bogh Republican 52.4% Win
Ray R. Quinto Democratic 47.6% Loss