JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Advanced Search Elected Offices Longest Service Shortest Service Redistricting Most Votes Ever Uncontested Races Recalls
Elections 2018 General 2018 SD-32 Special 2018 AD-39 Special 2018 AD-45 Special 2018 SD-29 Recall Elections by Decade
Legislator Databases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year


Historic Uncontested Candidates (1946-2016)
In the last sevent years, there have been 499 unopposed candidates. The 1950 and 1952 elections saw the most uncontested candidates (more than 150 in those two years alone). The Democrats have had more unchallenged candidates, with 260 (opposed to 209 uncontested Republicans). A large majority of the races were for Assembly seats (333 races), while 102 were State Senate races, 52 were members of Congress, and 12 members of the Board of Equalization.

Frequently Unopposed Candidates
Several candidates have run unopposed on multiple occasions. Lloyd W. Lowrey holds the record, having run unopposed eight times. Because of term limits and the large number of active political parties, it is highly unlikely that this record will ever be broken.  Ralph M. Brown and Gus Hawkins were elected unopposed seven times. Donald L. Grunsky and William Byron Rumford were elected unopposed six times. George A. ClarkeGlenn E. CoolidgeJohn F. Shelley and Randolph Collier were elected unopposed five times. Eleven Candidates were elected unopposed four times: Carley V. PorterClair EngleFrancis C. LindsayFrancis Dunn Jr.George R. ReillyHugh M. BurnsHugh P. DonnellyMarvin SherwinRichard H. McCollisterVincent Thomas, and Laughlin E. Waters.