JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2026 PREVIEW 2024 General 2024 CD-20 Special 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution CA in Congress Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

November 10, 1953

Special Election

Special Election to fill the vacancies created by the resignations of Assemblymen Marvin Sherwin (AD-16), Laughlin E. Waters (AD-58), Gordon R. Hahn (AD-66) and Congressman Norris Poulson (CD-24). and to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Assemblyman Jonathan J. Hollibaugh (AD-52).

Sherwin resigned after being appointed to the Alameda County Superior Court. Waters resigned after being appointed U.S. Attorney of the Southern California District. Hahn resigned after being elected to the Los Angeles City Council. Poulson resigned after being elected Mayor of Los Angeles.

NOTE: Information for Congressional Race is incomplete!

Glenard P. Lipscomb Republican Win
Walter I. Dahl Republican 46.2% Win
Robert H. Kroninger Democratic 33.7% Loss
James C. Walsh Republican 20% Loss
Frank G. Bonelli Democratic Win
James Harvey Brown Democratic 38% Loss
Joseph C. Shell Republican 62% Win
Kenneth A. Ross Jr. Republican Win