JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Longest Service Shortest Service Redistricting
Elections 2020 General 2020 CD-25 Special 2020 SD-28 Special Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Recalls Line of Succession Highest Ranking Legislator Databases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

June 19, 1878

Special Election

Special Election held to elect delegates to California's second Constitutional Convention.

This special election was authorized by Chapter 516, Statutes of 1875-76.

James J. Ayers Win
Eugene Casserly Win
Morris M. Estee Win
William J. Graves Win
John S. Hager Win
Henry H. Haight Win
John M. Kelley Win
John L. Mansfield Republican Win
James McMillan Shafter Win
Benjamin Shurtleff Win
Wiley J. Tinnin Win
Pleasant B. Tully Win
Byron Waters Win