JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Longest Service Shortest Service Redistricting
Elections 2020 General 2020 CD-25 Special 2020 SD-28 Special Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Recalls Line of Succession Highest Ranking Legislator Databases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

June 6, 2006

Special Election

Special Elections to fill the vacancies created by the resignations of Congressman Randy "Duke" Cunningham (CD-50) and State Senator John Campbell (SD-35).

Cunningham resigned from Congress after pleading guilty to tax evasion, conspiracy to commit bribery, mail fraud and wire fraud. Campbell resigned from the State Senate after being elected to Congress.

Brian P. Bilbray Republican 49.6% Win
Francine Busby Democratic 45% Loss
William D. Griffith Independent 3.8% Loss
Paul H. King Libertarian 1.6% Loss
Larry Caballero Democratic 32.4% Loss
Tom Harman Republican 67.6% Win

Primary Election

Superintendent of Public Instruction
Daniel Bunting Nonpartisan 8.5% Loss
Sarah L. Knopp Nonpartisan 17.3% Loss
Diane A. Lenning Nonpartisan 14.3% Loss
Grant M. McMicken Nonpartisan 7.9% Loss
Jack O'Connell Nonpartisan 52% Win