JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2021 Governor Recall 2021 AD-18 Special 2021 AD-54 Special 2021 Atty Gen appt 2021 AD-79 Special 2021 SD-30 Special 2021 Sec of State appt 2021 US Senate appt 2020 General
Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search Elections by Decade Uncontested Races CA Constitution Line of Succession Highest Ranking

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

March 17, 2015

Special Election

Special Election to fill the vacancies created by the resignations of State Senators Steve Knight (SD-21) and Mimi Walters (SD-37). Knight and Walters resigned after being elected to Congress.


Joshua C. Chandler Write-in 0.4% Loss
Joshua Conaway Write-in 0.9% Loss
Steve Hill Write-in 3.6% Loss
Jerry J. Laws Write-in 0.4% Loss
Richard E. Macias Write-in 0.3% Loss
Sharon Runner Republican 94.1% Win
Jason Zink Write-in 0.3% Loss
John M. W. Moorlach Republican 50.3% Win
Naz Namazi Republican 3.5% Loss
Louise Stewardson Write-in 2.2% Loss
Donald P. Wagner Republican 44% Loss