JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Longest Service Shortest Service Redistricting
Elections 2019 SD-01 Special 2019 SD-33 Special 2019 AD-## Special 2020 General Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search Most & Least Votes Uncontested Races Recalls Line of Succession Highest Ranking Legislator Databases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

May 21, 2019

Special Election

Special General Elections to fill the vacancies created by the resignations of State Senators Ted Gaines (SD-01) and Ricardo Lara (SD-33). Gaines resigned to become a member of the Board of Equalization and Lara to become Insurance Commissioner.

  • Primary Election: Results from SD-01 and SD-33 Special Primary Elections held on March 26th
  • NOTE: Because both of the "Top Two" candidates who will appear in the SD-01 run-off, it appears quite likely that an Assembly seat will become vacant in May, with a resulting special election in August.
  • LINK: Live Election Results (SD-01 from the Secretary of State and SD-33 from Los Angeles County)

Brian D. Dahle Republican
Kevin Kiley Republican
Lena Gonzalez Democratic
Jack M. Guerrero Republican