JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2024 [PREVIEW] 2024 General 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution Line of Succession Highest Ranking

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

It is, of course, ridiculously early to be looking at the 2024 elections, and yet here we are. Candidates are already lining up for seats that we vacated due to term limits or candidates seeking other offices. The next general election will select replacements for the first of the Term Limits 2.0 officeholders who served their full twelve years in the legislature. That, in turn, is causing some legislators to move from the Assembly to the Senate.

Remember that nothing is final yet. It's just Sunday, January 29, 2023 so they've still got 283 days left.

BOLD = incumbent seeking reelection
CROSSED = incumbent not seeking (or unable to seek) reelection
Regular = declared candidate
Italic = Potential/rumored candidate


State Senate

SD01  [R] - Brian Dahle (term limits), Sam Cannon (R), Neil Pople (D)

SD03  [D] - Bill Dodd (term limits)Cecilia Aguiar-Curry? (D), Lori Wilson? (D)

SD05  [D] - Susan Eggman (term limits) Edith Villapudua (D)

SD07  [D] - Nancy Skinner (term limits), Buffy Wicks? (D), Mia Bonta? (D)

SD09  [D] - Steve Glazer (term limits)Tim Grayson? (D), Rebecca Bauer-Kahan? (D)

SD11  [D] - Scott Wiener (D)

SD13  [D] - Josh Becker (D)

SD15  [D] - Dave Cortese (D)

SD17  [D] - John Laird (D)

SD19  [37% D, 35% R] - Rosilicie Ochoa-Bogh (R), Lisa Middleton (D), Christy Holstege? (D), Thurston Smith? (R)

SD21  [D] - Monique Limon (D)

SD23  [41% D, 30% R] - Scott Wilk (term limits), Kipp Mueller (D), Steve Bennett (D), Juan Carrillo (D), Pilar Schiavo (D), Elizabeth Ahlers (R), Suzette Martinez Valladares (R)?

SD25  [D] - Anthony Portantino (term limits)Laura Friedman? (D), Mike Fong? (D), Dario Frommer? (D)

SD27  [D] - Henry Stern (D)

SD29  [D] - Eloise Gomez Reyes (D)

SD31  [D] - Richard Roth (term limits), Sabrina Cervantes (D), Imran Angelov Farooq (D)

SD33  [D] - Lena Gonzalez (D)

SD35  [D] - Steven Bradford (term limits), Tina Simone McKinnor? (D)

SD37  [35% D, 36% R] - Dave Min (run for Congress), Josh Newman (D)

SD39  [D] - Toni Atkins (term limits), Nathan Fletcher (D)


State Assembly

AD-01  [R] - Megan Dahle (R)

AD-02  [D] - Jim Wood (D)

AD-03  [R] - James Gallagher (R)

AD-04  [D] - Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D) [See: SD03]

AD-05  [R] - Joe Patterson (R)

AD-06  [D] - Kevin McCarty [D]

AD-07  [38% D, 32% R] - Josh Hoover (R), Braden D. Murphy (D), 

AD-08  [R] - Jim Patterson (term limits) - Frank Bigelow (R)

AD-09  [R] - Heath Flora (R)

AD-10  [D] - Stephanie Nguyen (D)

AD-11  [D] - Lori Wilson (D) [See: SD03]

AD-12  [D] - Damon Connolly (D)

AD-13  [D] - Carlos Villapudua (D)

AD-14  [D] - Buffy Wicks (D) [See: SD07]

AD-15  [D] - Tim Grayson (D) [See: SD09]

AD-16  [D] - Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D) [See: SD09]

AD-17  [D] - Matt Haney (D)

AD-18  [D] - Mia Bonta (D) [See: SD07]

AD-19  [D] - Phil Ting (term limits)

AD-20  [D] - Liz Ortega (D)

AD-21  [D] - Diane Papan (D)

AD-22  [R] - Juan Alanis (R)

AD-23  [D] - Marc Berman (D)

AD-24  [D] - Alex T. Lee (D)

AD-25  [D] - Ash Kalra (D)

AD-26  [D] - Evan Low (D)

AD-27  [D] - Esmeralda Soria (D)

AD-28  [D] - Gail Pellerin (D)

AD-29  [D] - Robert Rivas (D)

AD-30  [D] - Dawn Addis (D)

AD-31  [D] - Joaquin Arambula (D)

AD-32  [R] - Vince Fong (R)

AD-33  [35% D, 35% R] - Devon Mathis (R)

AD-34  [R] - Tom Lackey (R)Thurston Smith? (R)

AD-35  [D] - Jasmeet Bains (D)

AD-36  [D] - Eduardo Garcia (D)

AD-37  [D] - Gregg Hart (D)

AD-38  [D] - Steve Bennett (D)

AD-39  [D] - Juan Carrillo (D)

AD-40  [D] - Pilar Schiavo (D)Suzette Martinez-Valladares? (R)

AD-41  [D] - Chris Holden (term limits), Felicia Williams (D), 

AD-42  [D] - Jacqui Irwin (D)

AD-43  [D] - Luz Rivas (D)

AD-44  [D] - Laura Friedman (Congress run) - 

AD-45  [D] - James C. Ramos (D)

AD-46  [D] - Jesse Gabriel (D)

AD-47  [40% D, 34% R] - Greg Wallis (R)Christy Holstege? (D)

AD-48  [D] - Blanca Rubio (D)

AD-49  [D] - Mike Fong (D) [See: SD25]

AD-50  [D] - Eloise Reyes (D)

AD-51  [D] - Rick Zbur (D)

AD-52  [D] - Wendy Carrillo (D)

AD-53  [D] - Freddie Rodriguez (term limits) - Michelle Rodriguez (the wife)

AD-54  [D] - Miguel Santiago (D)

AD-55  [D] - Isaac G. Bryan (D)

AD-56  [D] - Lisa Calderon (D)

AD-57  [D] - Reggie Jones-Sawyer (term limits)

AD-58  [D] - Sabrina Cervantes (State Senate run) - Ronaldo Fierro (D), Clarissa Cervantes (D)

AD-59  [R] - Phillip Chen (R)

AD-60  [D] - Corey Jackson (D)

AD-61  [D] - Tina Simone McKinnor (D) [See: SD35]

AD-62  [D] - Anthony Rendon (term limits) - Jose Solache (D), Eduardo De la Riva (NPP),

AD-63  [R] - Bill Essayli (R)

AD-64  [D] - Blanca Pacheco (D)

AD-65  [D] - Mike Gipson (D)

AD-66  [D] - Albert Muratsuchi (D)

AD-67  [D] - Sharon Quirk-Silva (D)

AD-68  [D] - Avelino Valencia (D)

AD-69  [D] - Josh Lowenthal (D)

AD-70  [37% D, 33% R] - Tri Ta (R)

AD-71  [R] - Karthryn Sanchez (R)

AD-72  [R] - Diane Dixon (R)

AD-73  [D] - Cottie Petrie-Norris (D)

AD-74  [35% D, 35% R] - Laurie Davies (R)

AD-75  [R] - Marie Waldron (term limits)

AD-76  [38% D, 30% R] - Brian Maienschein (term limits)Joseph C. Rocha (D), Kristie Bruce-Lane (R), June Cutter (R)

AD-77  [D] - Tasha Boerner Horvath (D)

AD-78  [D] - Chris Ward (D)

AD-79  [D] - Akilah Weber (D)

AD-80  [D] - David Alvarez (D)


Selected Federal Offices

US Senate [D] - Dianne Feinstein (D), Katie Porter (D), Adam Schiff (D), Barbara Lee (D)

CD-12 [D] - Barbara Lee (US Senate run) - Nancy Skinner? (D), Buffy Wicks? (D), Mia Bonta? (D)

CD-13 [43% D, 28% R] - John Duarte (R), Adam Gray? (D)

CD-17 [D] - Ro Khanna (D - Looking at US Senate run), Ritesh Tandon (R)

CD-22 [43% D, 26% R] - David Valadao (R), Rudy Salas (D), Phil Arballo (D)

CD-27 [42% D, 29% R] - Mike Garcia (R)

CD-30 [D] - Adam Schiff (US Senate run) - Laura Friedman (D), Anthony Portantino? (D), Mike Gatto? (D)

CD-41 [37% D, 36% R] - Ken Calvert (R)Will Rollins (D)

CD-45 [38% D, 32% R] - Michelle Steel (R), Kim Bernice Nguyen (D)

CD-47 [36% D, 34% R] - Katie Porter (US Senate run) - Scott R. Baugh (R), Harley Rouda (D)David Min (D)