JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Advanced Search Elected Offices Redistricting Longest Service Shortest Service Recalls
Elections 2017 AD-51 Special 2018 Election By Decade
Political Parties Democratic Republican Am. Independent Green Libertarian Peace & Freedom No Party Preference
Legislator Databases Women in CA Politics

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year


Members of the Legislature: 38
Highest Office Won: Railroad Commission (1897)
Founded: 1877

The party was restarted in 1877 by Dennis Kearney. The party won thirty-eight legislative elections in 1879 and 1880. The party was instrumental in the calling of the 1879 Constitutional Convention and played a significant role in the creation of the new document. Following these successes, the party had disappeared by 1882. 

The highest office won by the party were the two members of the Railroad Commission; C. J. Beerstecher and George Stoneman. Stoneman would be elected Governor three years later as a Democrat.