JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Advanced Search Elected Offices Redistricting Longest Service Shortest Service Recalls
Elections 2017 CD-34 Special 2017 AD-51 Special 2018 AD-39 Special 2018 AD-45 Special 2018 AD-54 Special 2018 SD-29 Recall 2018 SD-32 Special 2018 Election Elections by Decade
Political Parties Democratic Republican Am. Independent Green Libertarian Peace & Freedom No Party Preference
Legislator Databases Women in CA Politics

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

May 14, 1991

Special Election

Special Election to fill the vacancies created by the resignation of State Senators John T. Doolittle (SD-01) and John Seymour (SD-35) and Assemblyman Patrick Johnston (AD-26).

Doolittle resigned after being elected to Congress. Seymour resigned after being appointed to the U.S. Senate. Johnston resigned after being elected to the State Senate.

Gary Dusseljee Libertarian 2.3% Loss
Tim Leslie Republican 54.7% Win
Patti Mattingly Democratic 43% Loss
Francis X. "Frank" Hoffman Democratic 26.7% Loss
John R. Lewis Republican 67.5% Win
Eric Sprik Libertarian 5.7% Loss
Dean Andal Republican 56% Win
Debra Klohs Dezarn Libertarian 2.5% Loss
Patti Garamendi Democratic 41.6% Loss