JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Longest Service Shortest Service Redistricting
Elections 2019 AD-01 Special 2020 CD-25 Special 2020 SD-28 Special 2020 General 2022 General Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Recalls Line of Succession Highest Ranking Legislator Databases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

June 8, 2010

Special Election

Special Election to fill the vacancies created by the resignations of State Senator John Benoit (SD-37) and Assemblyman Paul Krekorian (AD-43). Benoit resigned after being appointed to the Riverside County Board of Supervisors. Krekorian resigned after being elected to the Los Angeles City Council.

Justin Blake Democratic 30.9% Loss
Bill Emmerson Republican 58.4% Win
Matt Monica American Independent 10.7% Loss
Mike Gatto Democratic 58.5% Win
Sunder Ramani Republican 41.5% Loss