JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Advanced Search Elected Offices Redistricting Elections by Decade 2016 Election 2018 Election
Elected Officials Longest Service Shortest Service Recalls
Political Parties Democratic Republican Am. Independent Green Libertarian Peace & Freedom No Party Preference
Legislator Databases Women in CA Politics

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

February 15, 2011

Special Election

Special Election to fill the vacancies created by the death of State Senator Jenny Oropeza (SD-28) and the resignation of State Senator George Runner (SD-17). Runner resigned after being elected to the State Board of Equalization.

  • Note: The 2011 Special Election for SD-28 was the first race to feature "No Party Preference" candidates.

Darren W. Parker Democratic 34.7% Loss
Sharon Runner Republican 65.3% Win
Michael T. Chamness No Party Preference 0.6% Loss
Martha E. Flores-Gibson Republican 6.9% Loss
Jeffrey E. Fortini Republican 2.2% Loss
Ted W. Lieu Democratic 56.8% Win
Mark Lipman No Party Preference 3.4% Loss
Kevin Thomas McGurk Democratic 2.5% Loss
James P. Thompson Republican 2.3% Loss
Bob Valentine Republican 25.3% Loss