JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2026 PREVIEW 2024 General 2024 CD-20 Special 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution CA in Congress Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

June 5, 1956

Special Election

Special Election to fill the vacancies created by the resignations of Assemblymen Daniel J. Creedon (AD-25), G. Delbert Morris (AD-63) and LeRoy E. Lyon Jr. (AD-75) and the vacancy caused by the death of Assemblyman Roscoe L. Patterson (AD-35).

Morris resigned after being sentenced to prison.

Louis Francis Republican 52% Win
W. Howard Hartley Democratic 48% Loss
Howard Chittenden Democratic 21.3% Loss
Myron H. Frew Democratic 38.6% Loss
Domer F. Power Republican 40.1% Win
Don A. Allen Sr. Democratic 36.9% Win
Sam Jonas Republican 29.1% Loss
Louis J. Jones Republican 8.6% Loss
George L. Thomas Democratic 25.4% Loss
Richard T. Hanna Democratic 43.3% Win
Willard M. Hanzlik Republican 20.5% Loss
Charles Thompson Hindley Republican 6.3% Loss
George Timothy Kellogg Republican 19.2% Loss
Dave McGrew Republican 2.5% Loss
Jess W. Pickett Republican 8.3% Loss