JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Advanced Search Elected Offices Longest Service Shortest Service Redistricting Most Votes Ever Uncontested Races Recalls
Elections 2018 General 2018 SD-32 Special 2018 AD-39 Special 2018 AD-45 Special 2018 SD-29 Recall Elections by Decade
Legislator Databases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

Tony Miller


Picture of Tony Miller
Blue Book 2000
Date Party Office Votes Result
02-17-1994 Democratic Secretary of State 0 Win
11-08-1994 Democratic Secretary of State 3690841 Loss

Candidate Biography:

Born: June 29, 1948 in Chester, CA
Partner: Peter Pavey

Previous: Legislative Aide
Previous: Congressional Aide
1970s: Founder, Californians for Political Reform Foundation
Previous: Chief Deputy State Controller
1975-1976: Member, California Fair Political Practices Commission
1976-1981: Chief Legal Counsel, Secretary of State March Fong Eu
1981-1994: Chief Deputy Secretary of State
1995: Acting Secretary of State (following the resignation of March Fong Eu)
1996: Co-Author of Proposition 208, which placed a limit on the maximum contribution that could be given to local, legislative, and statewide candidates.
1998: Primary Candidate for Lieutenant Governor (Lost; 18.25%)
2000: Treasurer, Californians Against Phony "Reform" (Opposed to Proposition to 34)
2003: Special Projects Coordinator, Secretary of State Kevin Shelley
2004-2005: Special Counsel, Secretary of State Kevin Shelley

  • NOTE: As Acting Secretary of State in 1994, Tony Miller became the first statewide officer to set up the live election results available through the internet. Miller arranged for statewide results to be available through gopher servers at "".
  • Eagle Scout (~1964)
  • CLOSE CONTEST: Bill Jones won the 1994 General election when he defeated Miller by 37,053 votes (0.5%).

[Update candidate information]