JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2024 State PREVIEW 2024 Fed PREVIEW 2024 General 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

Bill Jones


Picture of Bill Jones
Date Party Office Votes Result
11-05-1968 Republican CD-19 53842 Loss
11-03-1970 Republican CD-19 41462 Loss
11-02-1976 Republican AD-31 44655 Loss
11-02-1982 Republican AD-32 60744 Win
11-06-1984 Republican AD-32 87555 Win
11-04-1986 Republican AD-32 70825 Win
11-08-1988 Republican AD-32 87483 Win
11-06-1990 Republican AD-32 71592 Win
11-03-1992 Republican AD-29 122464 Win
11-08-1994 Republican Secretary of State 3727894 Win
11-03-1998 Republican Secretary of State 3783665 Win
11-02-2004 Republican Senate3 4548931 Loss

Candidate Biography:

William L. Jones
Born: December 20, 1949 in Coalinga, CA
Married: Maurine (in 1971)*
Children: Andrea and Wendy

1991-1992: Minority Leader, California State Assembly
2002: Primary Candidate for Governor (Lost; 16%)
2003-Present: Founder and Chairman of the Board, Pacific Ethanol Inc.
2006-2008: San Joaquin Valley Region Member, California Bay-Delta Authority
2008: Delegate, Republican National Convention
2009: Early Primary Candidate for CD-19 (Withdrew)
2012: Delegate, Republican National Convention

  • LEGISLATION: Author, Proposition 184 (1994), which created the Three-strikes Law for repeat offenders.
  • As Secretary of State, Jones launched the first website that carried live election returns (
  • Maureen Jones is the Chair of the California Museum Board of Directors.
  • CLOSE CONTEST: Jones won the 1998 General election when he defeated Michela Alioto-Pier by 89,738 votes (1.1%).
  • CLOSE CONTEST: Jones won the 1994 General election when he defeated Tony Miller by 37,053 votes (0.5%).

Source: California Legislature Handbook (1983)