JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Advanced Search Elected Offices Redistricting Elections by Decade 2016 Election 2018 Election
Elected Officials Longest Service Shortest Service Recalls
Political Parties Democratic Republican Am. Independent Green Libertarian Peace & Freedom No Party Preference
Legislator Databases Women in CA Politics

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

September 5, 1876

General Election

Peter Cooper Greenback Loss
Rutherford B. Hayes Republican 50.9% Win
Samuel J. Tilden Democratic 49.1% Loss
Horace Davis Republican 53.3% Win
William A. Piper Democratic 46.7% Loss
G. J. Carpenter Democratic 43.3% Loss
Horace F. Page Republican 56.7% Win
John K. Luttrell Democratic 51.1% Win
Joseph McKenna Republican 48.9% Loss
Romualdo Pacheco Republican 50% Win
P. D. Wigginton Democratic 50% Loss