JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2024 State PREVIEW 2024 Fed PREVIEW 2024 General 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

June 4, 1974

Special Election

Special Election to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Congressman William S. Mailliard (CD-06). Mailliard resigned after being appointed U.S. Permanent Representative to the Organization of American States (OAS).

John Burton Democratic 50% Win
Thomas Caylor Republican 21.1% Loss
Leslie Alan Grant Democratic 2.1% Loss
Sean McCarthy Republican 5.3% Loss
Terrence "T.V." McGuire Democratic 8.7% Loss
Alan F. Reeves Democratic 4.1% Loss
Jean Wall Republican 5.8% Loss
Wesley Wilkes Republican 2.7% Loss

Primary Election

Superintendent of Public Instruction
Everett T. Calvert Nonpartisan 7.7% Loss
Mariana Alarcon Hernandez Nonpartisan 4.1% Loss
Harold G. Jindrich Nonpartisan 4.6% Loss
Warren Linville Nonpartisan 8.2% Loss
Kent Lloyd Nonpartisan 5.7% Loss
Cornelia M. Meyer Nonpartisan 2% Loss
Wilson Riles Nonpartisan 67.7% Win