JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Elected Offices Elections by Decade Longest Service Shortest Service Most & Fewest Votes Uncontested Races Closest Contests Redistricting Recalls
Elections 2024 General 2024 CD-20 Special 2023 US Senate Appt 2022 General Prior 2020s Elections Elections by Decade
Other Stuff Advanced Search CA Constitution CA in Congress Line of Succession Highest Ranking SCOTUS Cases

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

October 7, 2003

Recall Election

Special Election for the Recall of Governor Gray Davis.
A total of 9,413,494 Californians voted in this election.
There were almost as many candidates for Governor in California in the 2003 Recall Election as in all previous California elections combined. From 1849 to 2002, there were 180 candidates for Governor. The 2003 Recall election added 136 to that number.

Shall Gray Davis be Recalled (removed) from the Office of Governor?
YES: 4,976,274 (55.4%)
NO: 4,007,783 (44.6%)

Iris Adam Natural Law Loss
Brooke Adams Independent Loss
Douglas Anderson Republican Loss
Angelyne Independent Loss
Mohammad Arif Independent Loss
Badi Badiozamani Independent Loss
Vik S. Bajwa Democratic Loss
John W. Beard Republican Loss
Ed Beyer Republican Loss
Vip Bhola Republican Loss
Cheryl Bly-Chester Republican 0.1% Loss
Audie Bock Democratic Loss
Joel Britton Independent Loss
Art Brown Democratic Loss
John Christopher Burton Independent 0.1% Loss
Cruz M. Bustamante Democratic 31.5% Loss
Peter Camejo Green 2.8% Loss
Todd Carson Republican Loss
William S. "Bill" Chambers Republican Loss
Michael Cheli Independent Loss
D. "Logan Darrow" Clements Republican Loss
Gary Coleman Independent 0.2% Loss
Mary "Mary Carey" Cook Independent 0.1% Loss
Robert Cullenbine Democratic Loss
Scott Davis Independent Loss
Robert "Butch" Dole Republican Loss
Bob Lynn Edwards Democratic Loss
Warren Farrell Democratic Loss
Dan Feinstein Democratic Loss
Larry Flynt Democratic 0.2% Loss
Lorraine "Abner Zurd" Fontanes Democratic Loss
Gene Forte Republican Loss
Diana Foss Democratic Loss
Ronald J. Friedman Independent Loss
Leo Gallagher Independent 0.1% Loss
Gerold Lee Gorman Democratic Loss
Rich Gosse Republican Loss
James H. Green Democratic Loss
Jack Loyd Grisham Independent Loss
Garrett Gruener Democratic Loss
Joe Guzzardi Democratic Loss
Ivan A. Hall Green Loss
Ken Hamidi Libertarian Loss
Sara Ann Hanlon Independent Loss
C. Stephen Henderson Independent Loss
Ralph A. Hernandez Democratic Loss
John J. "Jack" Hickey Libertarian Loss
Jim Hoffmann Republican Loss
Arianna Huffington Independent 0.5% Loss
S. Issa Republican Loss
Michael A. Jackson Republican Loss
Trek Thunder Kelly Independent Loss
Edward T. "Ed" Kennedy Democratic Loss
D. E. Kessinger Democratic Loss
Kelly P. Kimball Democratic Loss
Stephen L. Knapp Republican Loss
Eric Korevaar Democratic Loss
Jerome "Jerry" Kunzman Independent Loss
Dick Lane Democratic Loss
Gary Leonard Democratic Loss
Todd Richard Lewis Independent Loss
Calvin Y. Louie Democratic Loss
Frank A. Macaluso Jr. Democratic Loss
Paul "Chip" Mailander Democratic Loss
Robert C. Mannheim Democratic Loss
Bruce Margolin Democratic 0.1% Loss
Paul Mariano Democratic Loss
Gino Martorana Republican Loss
Mike P. McCarthy Independent Loss
Bob McClain Independent Loss
Tom McClintock Republican 13.4% Loss
Dennis Duggan McMahon Republican Loss
Mike McNeilly Republican Loss
Scott A. Mednick Democratic Loss
Carl A. Mehr Republican Loss
Jonathan Miller Democratic Loss
Darryl L. Mobley Independent Loss
Jeffrey L. Mock Republican Loss
John S. "Jack" Mortensen Democratic Loss
Dorene Musilli Republican Loss
Paul Nave Democratic Loss
Robert C. Newman II Republican Loss
Leonard Padilla Independent Loss
Ronald Jason Palmieri Democratic Loss
Gregory J. Pawlik Republican Loss
Heather Peters Republican Loss
Charles "Chuck" Pineda Jr. Democratic Loss
Bill Prady Democratic Loss
Darin Price Natural Law Loss
Bryan Quinn Republican Loss
Jeff Rainforth Independent Loss
Daniel C. "Danny" Ramirez Democratic Loss
Christopher Ranken Democratic Loss
Reva Renee Renz Republican Loss
Daniel W. Richards Republican Loss
Kevin Richter Republican Loss
Kurt E. "Tachikaze" Rightmyer Independent Loss
David Laughing Horse Robinson Democratic 0.1% Loss
Ned Roscoe Libertarian Loss
Sharon Rushford Independent Loss
Georgy Russell Democratic Loss
Jamie Rosemary Safford Republican Loss
Alex Saint James Republican Loss
David Ronald Sams Republican Loss
Darrin H. Scheidle Democratic Loss
Mike Schmier Democratic Loss
George B. Schwartzman Independent 0.1% Loss
Arnold Schwarzenegger Republican 48.6% Win
Richard J. Simmons Independent Loss
Bill Simon Republican 0.1% Loss
B. E. Smith Independent Loss
Randall D. Sprague Republican Loss
Christopher Sproul Democratic Loss
Lawrence Steven Strauss Democratic 0.1% Loss
Tim Sylvester Democratic Loss
Alvah Lavar Taylor Democratic Loss
Diane Beall Templin American Independent Loss
Patricia G. Tilley Independent Loss
Brian Tracy Independent Loss
William Tsangares Republican Loss
Peter V. Ueberroth Republican 0.3% Loss
Marc Valdez Democratic Loss
James M. Vandeventer Jr. Republican Loss
Paul W. Vann Republican Loss
William "Bill" Vaughn Democratic Loss
Van Vo Republican 0.1% Loss
Chuck Walker Republican Loss
Maurice Walker Green Loss
Nathan Whitecloud Walton Independent Loss
Daniel Watts Green Loss
C. T. Weber Peace and Freedom Loss
Jim Weir Democratic Loss
Lingel H. Winters Democratic Loss
Michael J. Wozniak Democratic Loss
Jon W. Zellhoefer Republican Loss