JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California

Information Home Advanced Search Elected Offices Redistricting Elections by Decade 2016 Election 2018 Election
Elected Officials Longest Service Shortest Service Recalls
Political Parties Democratic Republican Am. Independent Green Libertarian Peace & Freedom No Party Preference
Legislator Databases Women in CA Politics

[search tips] [advanced search]

Searching tips

  • Enter a candidate's name to find a candidate
  • Enter the name of a political party to find the party and all candidates
  • Enter a date to find an election
  • Enter a year to find all elections within that year

Juan Vargas


Picture of Juan Vargas
Date Party Office Votes Result
11-07-2000 Democratic AD-79 55689 Win
11-05-2002 Democratic AD-79 37479 Win
11-02-2004 Democratic AD-79 78565 Win
11-02-2010 Democratic SD-40 101767 Win
11-06-2012 Democratic CD-51 113934 Win
11-04-2014 Democratic CD-51 56373 Win
11-08-2016 Democratic CD-51 145162 Win

Candidate Biography:

Born: March 7, 1961 in National City, CA
Married: Adrienne DeAscoli (in 1990)
Daughters: Rosa Celina and Helena Jeanne

1993-2001: Member, San Diego City Council
1996: Primary Candidate for CD-50 (Lost; 45.5%)
2006: Primary Candidate for CD-51 (Lost; 42.6%)
2006-2010: Vice President of External Relations, Safeco
2013: Resigned from the State Senate on January 3.
2016: Delegate, Democratic National Convention

  • CLOSE CONTEST: In the 2010 Primary Election, Vargas took the lead 18 days after the election. According to the San Diego Union-Tribune, Mary Salas declared victory in the SD-40 Primary on the morning of June 9th "after securing a slim but solid lead" (Salas, 50.6%, Vargas, 49.4%) but Juan Vargas declined to concede the election. It wasn't until June 26th that Vargas took an extremely narrow lead in the vote count (Vargas, 50.1%; Salas, 49.9%). According to the Sacramento Bee, Vargas declared victory on the evening of July 12th when the final votes were counted, giving him a 22-vote margin. Salas ended the recount and conceded the election on July 22.

Source: California Legislature Handbook (2001-02)

[Update candidate information]